Home Live Review Live Review: Ashe @ 9:30 Club — 4/23/22

Live Review: Ashe @ 9:30 Club — 4/23/22

Live Review: Ashe @ 9:30 Club — 4/23/22

Ashe performs at the 9:30 Club on April 23, 2022. (Photo by Katie Child)

Packed to the back wall of the venue, Ashe brought a sold-out crowd to 9:30 Club on The Fault Line Tour, and had audience members tied around her finger.

With a quick rise to fame, Ashlyn Rae Willson, better known by Ashe, has gained tremendous popularity over the past few years. Her emotionally compelling lyrics draw in audiences of all types through their relatability and tendency to pull on the heart-strings of their listeners.


With a rounding arch centering the stage at DC’s 9:30 Club on April 23, Ashe’s band stood by her side, performance ready, as the crowd roared for the appearance of one of pop’s newest hitmakers.

Ashe (born Ashlyn Rae Willson) proudly admits to taking inspiration from artists such as Harry Styles, Tom Petty, Carole King, and countless additional icons, and she’s certainly on the right track to growing towards their fame. Having seen both Harry Styles and Ashe live in concert, I can say with confidence that Ashe exhibits the same exuberant, breezy, and sun-shiny energy that fans find so refreshing.

Watch Ashe’s lyric video for her song “Save Myself” on YouTube.

Not only does Ashe have an absolutely beautiful voice — she also knows how to wonderfully control it while performing live. The audience buckled at the barricade and reached toward the stage as Ashe greeted fans with grateful hand grasps throughout the entire set.


Ashe’s show was a wonderful one to attend. The energy in the club was supercharged from the moment I entered, all the way through until I left. Ashe’s hit song Moral of the Story featuring One Direction’s Niall Horan brought tons of fans from the 1D fan base over to Ashes’ and the floor irrupted when Drag Me Down by One Direction began blaring from the speakers before Ashes’ set. It was a smashing way to prep the audience, and proved the energy of the attendees.

Listen to Ashe’s latest single, “Another Man’s Jeans,” on Spotify.


1. Me Without You

2. I’m Fine

3. Kansas / Someone to Lose

4. Save Myself

5. Not Mad Anymore

6. Love Is Not Enough

7. Taylor

8. When I’m Older

9. Another Man’s Jeans

10. Somebody to Love (Queen cover)

11. Hope You’re Not Happy

12. Always

13. ‘Till Forever Falls Apart

14. Moral of the Story

Here are some pictures of Ashe performing at 9:30 Club on April 23, 2022. All photos copyright and courtesy of Katie Child.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here