Home Live Review Live Review: COIN @ The Anthem — 8/12/22

Live Review: COIN @ The Anthem — 8/12/22

Live Review: COIN @ The Anthem — 8/12/22
COIN’s lead vocalist, Chase Lawrence, performs at The Anthem on Aug. 12, 2022. (Photo by Katie Child)

As magnetic as they come, COIN drew in fans from all over the region, and melded the crowd with their peachy-sweet, sunshiny discography in their recent concert at The Anthem in DC. Charming the venue in its entirety, the three-man pop rock band, consisting of Chase Lawrence, Ryan Winnen, and Joe Memmel, carried the floor’s energy on their shoulders, delivering the good vibes straight across the pit to the barricade.

The band formed over a decade ago, in Nashville, Tennessee. Though this was personally my first time seeing them live, they’ve made their rounds through DC, playing venues such as 9:30 Club and U Street Music Hall. They’re currently on their fourth headlining tour, in promotion of their latest album, Uncanny Valley which they dropped in the Spring of 2022.

Stream Uncanny Valley by COIN on Spotify:

The band demonstrated, to a tee, what an amazing concert can look like. Mastering the balance between superb vocals and high energy, they not only held up to the standard of their studio-recorded music, but managed to carry the audience’s attention while doing so.

I especially enjoyed watching guitarist Joe Memmel leap around the stage, simultaneously keeping up with his tune. Memmel interacted with the crowd every chance he got; surely, an unforgettable experience for many front row attendees.

Joe Memmel of COIN, performing at The Anthem on Aug. 12, 2022.

COIN played a stacked setlist, ending up with a grand total of 23 songs. Their most played album was of course Uncanny Valley, but not at all far behind, was fan-favorite, Dreamland, released in 2020.

Stream Dreamland by COIN on Spotify:


  1. Learning
  2. Chapstick
  3. Cutie
  4. I Want It All
  5. Take a Picture
  6. Hannah
  7. Cemetery
  8. Growing Pains
  9. Brad Pitt
  10. Valentine
  11. Into My Arms
  12. Killing Me
  13. I Think I Met You in a Dream
  14. Babe Ruth
  15. Heart Eyes
  16. Let It All Out (10:05)
  17. You Are The Traffic
  18. Youuu
  19. Take the Stairs
  20. Malibu 1992
  21. Talk Too Much
  22. Loving
  23. Crash My Car

See more pictures from COIN’s gig at The Anthem on Aug. 12, 2022, below. All photos copyright and courtesy of Katie Child.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here