Home Preview Preview: STS9 @ State Theatre, 9/26-9/28/19

Preview: STS9 @ State Theatre, 9/26-9/28/19


STS9 (Photo courtesy the band)

For the first time ever, STS9 brings their acoustic Axe the Cables show to DC metro! The instrumental psychedelic funk band performs for three nights at the State Theatre in Falls Church, Virginia, on Thursday, Sept. 26, Friday, Sept. 27, and Saturday, Sept. 28, dedicating the first evening of the residency to Axe the Cables. All three nights are available at one special price.

Inspired by the 50th anniversary of the Apollo 11 spaceflight, which sent two Americans to land on the moon for the first time ever, STS9 celebrates a theme of exploration at every stop on this tour. All shows will be custom crafted to explore the STS9 catalogs, and the band has some special plans for each stop. “We’re looking to go where no sectornaut has gone before… LFG!” says STS9, which is short for Sound Tribe Sector 9.

Watch STS9 play “Life’s Sweet Breath” live in their studio via YouTube:

In a review of Artifact on AllMusic by Rick Anderson, the writer praised STS9’s “salutary universalism” and the group’s capacity to perform with everyone from James Brown to Tortoise.

“The quintet makes skillful use of both organic, human-played instruments and samples, blending them together into a rich fusion of forward-looking funk and crazy space-age electronica,” Rick wrote.

There are a limited number of three-day passes available for these shows.

Buy your tickets online now for Thursday, Sept. 26, the special acoustic “Axe the Cables” show.

Buy your tickets online now for Friday, Sept. 27.

Buy your tickets online now for Saturday, Sept. 28.

Buy your tickets online now for all three nights at a special price.

State Theatre
Thursday, Sept. 26
Friday, Sept. 27
Saturday, Sept. 28
Doors @ 7pm
1 Day: $50 GA/ $90 VIP
3 Day: $115 GA/ $199 VIP
All ages

Previous articlePreview: Black Pumas @ U Street Music Hall, 9/12/19
Next articleLive Review: Morrissey @ Merriweather Post Pavilion — 9/5/19


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here