Home Around Town Around Town: The Wammies @ Lincoln Theatre — 3/31/19

Around Town: The Wammies @ Lincoln Theatre — 3/31/19

Around Town: The Wammies @ Lincoln Theatre — 3/31/19

Jeffrey Tribble Jr., Executive Director of The MusicianShip, addresses the Butterfly Bash in 2017. (Photo by Mickey McCarter)

The MusicianShip, a nonprofit dedicated to providing music education to DC youth, sponsored its first Wammie Awards, recently choosing “the best of the best” among DC musicians for recognition to continue the mission of the dissolved Washington Area Music Association.

As editor of Parklife DC, I was a judge and a presenter for the 2019 Wammie Awards at the Lincoln Theatre on March 31, and I’m pleased to provide the full list of winners.

On stage with storied producer Marco Delmar, I presented the award for best R&B Artist or Group to Mannywellz, who had a breakout year with his album Soulfro.

Here are the rest of the winners. Parklife DC has reviewed quite a few of them in the past, and we look forward to reviewing the live performances of the others as opportunities provide. (In cases below where a best artist or group includes a song or album, those are the latest works provided for listening to judges by the Wammies.)

Wammie Award Winners

Best Acapella Artist/Group
Pitches Be Crazy (PBC) Vocal Band

Best Bluegrass Album
Two Ton Twig, Fairydust & Rattlesnakes

Best Bluegrass Artist/Group
Frank Solivan and Dirty Kitchen, If You Can’t Stand the Heat

Best Blues Album
Bobby Thompson, The Acoustic Sessions EP

Best Blues Artist/Group
Sol Roots, “Forgiveness” (feat. Phil Wiggins)

Best Children’s Music Artist/Group
Rocknoceros, Happy Song

Best Country/Americana Album
Eli Lev and the Fortunes Found, Way Out West

Best Country Americana Artist/Group
Karen Jonas, Butter

Best Electronic/Techno Artist/Group
Will Eastman, Everything at Once

Best Folk Album
Dom Flemons, Black Cowboys

Best Folk Artist/Group
Mackenzie Fisher, Gravelly Point

Best Funk Album
Aztec Sun, In the Name of Everyone

Best Funk Artist/Group
Aztec Sun, In the Name of Everyone

Best Funk Song
Fort Knox Five, “Jinglin’ Janglin'”

Best Gogo Album
Michelle Blackwell, Body of Work

Best Gogo Artist/Group
Rare Essence, Live PA #21

Best Gogo Song
The Jogo Project, “Dear Draylen”

Best Gospel Album
Da Flame, God Answers Prayers

Best Gospel Artist/Group
Da Flame, God Answers Prayers

Best Gospel Song
CVRTER, “Amazing”

Best Hard Rock Album
Black Dog Prowl, Fine Lousy State

Best Hard Rock Artist/Group
Black Dog Prowl, Fine Lousy State

Best Hard Rock Song
Black Dog Prowl, “The Hill You Die On”

Best Hip Hop Album
Innanet James, Keep It Clean

Best Hip Hop Artist/Group
Beau Young Prince, Groovyland (Deluxe)

Best Hip Hop Song
Beau Young Prince, “Kill Moe” feat. Shy Glizzy

Best Jazz Album
Jack Kilby and the Front Line, Love Is a Song Anyone Can Sing

Best Jazz Artist/ Group
Kayla Waters, Coevolve

Best Jazz Song
Phyllis Domingue, “Please Stay”

Best Latin Artist/Group
Empresarios, Cambumbeo EP

Best Pop Album
Be Steadwell, Queer Love Songs

Best Pop Artist/Group

Best Pop Song
SHAED, “Trampoline”

Best Punk Album
The Split Seconds, Counterfeit Reality

Best Punk Artist or Group
The Split Seconds, Counterfeit Reality

Best R&B Album
Alex Vaughn, The Shift

Best R&B Artist/Group
Mannywellz, Soulfro

Best R&B Song
Sydney Franklin, “Make It Hurt”

Best Rap Album
Rico Nasty, Nasty

Best Rap Artist/Group
Rico Nasty, Nasty

Best Rap Song
Innanet James, “Keep It Clean”

Best Reggae Album
Feelfree, Define the Free

Best Reggae Artist/Group
Shamans of Sound, Shamans of Sound

Best Rock Album
Flasher, Constant Image

Best Rock Artist/Group
The Messthetics, The Messthetics

Best Rock Song
Fellowcraft, “Hold the Line”

Best Soul Album
Cecilly, Songs of Love and Freedom

Best Soul Artist/Group
Mannywellz, Soulfro

Best Soul Song
Saint T, “IDK”

Best World Music Album
Hailu Mergia, Lala Belu

Best World Music Artist/Group
Dogo, Soke Wo

General Interest Awards

Do Good Award
DC Legendary Musicians Inc.

Educator Award
Mr. John Newson

Music Media Award
DC Music Rocks

Best Music Studio Award
Innovation Station Music

Advocacy Award
Aaron Myers

Best Music Venue Award (Sponsored by Yelp)
9:30 Club

For more information on the Wammie Awards and to stay tuned for news on the 2020 Wammies, visit the Wammies website.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here